All Twitter-ed Up and No Place To Go

I did it.  I can’t believe I actually opened a Twitter account. Strike me dead if I’m lyin’.

Actually, strike me dead anyway, because now that I’ve got it, I’m not sure I know what to do with it.  I’ve read articles and blogs on how Twitter, Facebook, and other social networking sites are necessary if I want to get my writing out there (wherever “there” is), but most of them assume I know a lot more that I do.  They assume I’ve learned to read.

They assume incorrectly.

Now, I need to write a short bio and toot my first tweet (or vice-versa), but just thinking about what to say in 140 characters or less is incredibly intimidating.  How can I possibly weed through the chaos in my head, and select only 140 characters, and then arrange them in whatever order is necessary to express a complete thought?  I can’t believe they expect me to do this! It’s like sorting through a junk drawer where all the little miscellaneous doodads and gadgets end up (you know, the little stuff you’ll never use, but don’t dare throw away, and there’s no where else to put it).  That’s my head…one humongous junk drawer within a stuffed, cluttered, disorganized hall closet.  Haz-mat suit required.

I really should set up a filing system.

Until then, though, I’m stuck rooting around in there for anything upon which to base a tweet.  It has to be something thoughtful (slim chance) or inspirational (slimmer chance), or downright life-changing (impossible – I don’t keep stuff like that beyond it’s expiration date.)

Maybe I should just settle for mildly coherent and hope for the best.

About Cindy Thrasher

What about me? Good question. As soon as I figure it out, I'll let you know. In the meantime, let's just say I exist. In Texas. With a husband. In a house. With two dogs.

Posted on May 24, 2011, in The Road to Fame & Fortune and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t have the pressure of a weekly blog post . . . but I do have a “thought for the day,” compliments of Uncle Chen’s Chinese restaurant in Euless . . . the fortune cookie last week had this fortune: “Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity.” Maybe this will provide some inspiration for your post. Or not.

Leave a Reply

