Go-To Thursdays

Today is Thursday, and I’m double-booked.  I don’t know what happened…one minute I had time–lots of it–and the next minute, I didn’t.  Just like that.

I did not realize how much stuff gets scheduled for Thursdays.  I’ve always looked down on Thursday, being convinced it was the most boring, least important, most overrated day of the week.  Even the name “Thursday” is boring.  So, I don’t know if people decided it was time to give Thursday its due, or if they just felt sorry for it, but all of a sudden, it’s become the go-to day.  Even I went to it when I started blogging.  I thought, Thursday is so disdainful, so boring, and since I won’t have anything else going on that day because it’s a Thursday, I’ll start writing a blog, and I’ll post something every Thursday, since there’s a pretty good chance that nothing more important will come up that will keep me from doing it on a regular basis, unless one wants to count writer’s block, and that’s virtually impossible to keep on a regular schedule.

So, I took my chances.  When a friend of mine called me up and asked me to attend an evening Bible study at her church for the next five Thursdays, I didn’t hesitate, and said, yes, I would.  (I should have consulted my day-planner, but I don’t have one.)  My thought-processes were sound, I think, because I don’t think anything of note has ever intentionally happened on a Thursday (except maybe Grey’s Anatomy, and I record that anyway).

Aha!  you say.  Thanksgiving’s on a Thursday!

Well, actually, Thanksgiving is somewhat of an anomaly…it wasn’t supposed to be on a Thursday.  The Pilgrims, with their own day-planners in hand, went to the Indians to see how their schedules looked for Saturday, since Saturdays have always been fun, let-your-hair-down days.  But, the Indians couldn’t do Saturday because they had a fort up-river they had to attack, and the Pilgrims reminded the Indians that there weren’t any forts yet, and the Indians said okay, but then suddenly remembered that there was a hunting party scheduled for that day anyway, and it was too late to cancel the caterer.  So, the Pilgrims said how about Friday?  And the Indians said that Friday’s no good, because they’d be terrible company after having had such a hectic week, but that they could do Thursday, because nothing ever happens on Thursday and they felt sorry for it.  So the Pilgrims agreed to have Thanksgiving on Thursday.

Apparently, a whole lot of other people have re-thought Thursdays, too, because a week after I said yes to the Bible study, I remembered that I had three other commitments on Thursdays falling within the same five-week time frame as this Bible study.  That’s when I realized just how disorganized and out of control my life is.

Turns out it’s a good thing I signed up for that Bible study…it’s on time management.

What’re the odds?

About Cindy Thrasher

What about me? Good question. As soon as I figure it out, I'll let you know. In the meantime, let's just say I exist. In Texas. With a husband. In a house. With two dogs.

Posted on July 14, 2011, in Mulligan Stew and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The week is what we make of it! I personally decided to make Thursday my run around the house naked day.

  2. Maxim – I’d do that, too, but that’s what Saturdays are for!

  3. It’s the day before Friday…how can it be bad? 🙂

  4. Jess – you are right. It is, afterall, the harbinger of Friday, and that’s worth something, isn’t it…although I’m not sure that Wednesday couldn’t do a bang-up job of it, either.

Leave a Reply

