Calling in the Cavalry

I’m a Platform-Building Campaigner.  What, you might ask, is that, and why is it such a big deal?

It’s a big deal because writing is, by its nature, a solitary pursuit.  Unless you’re lucky enough to be a member of a writing team for someone like David Letterman, chances are you’re stuck by yourself, all alone, in an office or other converted space, pounding away on a computer or, what they used to call in the day, a “typewriter.”

It’s a big deal is because through this Campaign, I will become part of a growing community of writers, many of whom are in the same proverbial boat as me, i.e., a complete novice at this writing thing.  I also won’t have to waste valuable time making all my own mistakes…I can make just a few, while learning from the mistakes others have made before me.  It’s a good deal, especially since it’s extremely likely their mistakes aren’t nearly as fatal as mine usually are.

Like many (if not the majority) of writers out there, I’m not too keen on promoting my own work, or my own name, or my own brand (like I even know what a “brand” is).  I’d like to believe that once someone reads what I write, they’ll graciously deign to tell all their friends, relatives, acquaintances, and co-workers what a great writer I am and boy they should really check out my blog because it will change their lives for the better…forever.

Who says I don’t have a fantasy life?

Anyway, that isn’t gonna happen (unfortunately), so I’ve got to take my destiny—and my reputation—into my own, feeble, inexperienced hands.  Joining the Platform-Building Campaign will not only teach me what a “platform” is, it will, hopefully, go a long way towards improving my comfort level in blowing my own horn, and, just as importantly, the horns of all the other Campaigners out there.

Stay tuned…I’ll let you know how it’s going.  In the meantime, click on the Shield at the left to see what I’m talking about.

About Cindy Thrasher

What about me? Good question. As soon as I figure it out, I'll let you know. In the meantime, let's just say I exist. In Texas. With a husband. In a house. With two dogs.

Posted on August 23, 2011, in The Road to Fame & Fortune and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Hi! I’m a fellow newbie campaigner too. Just dropping by to say hello. 😀

  2. Hi Cindy, I’m in the beginner bloggers group with you. I’m a bit nervous about all this, but looking forward to it. People who have taken part before have all rushed to sign up again so that has to be a good thing! If I can meet more people like me (well, maybe not ‘like me’ that’s a bit scary) then I’ll consider it a success. Happy campaigning!

  3. Andrea S. Michaels

    Hello Cindy, thanks for stopping by! I really like your layout, I wanted to tell you this, ’cause a lot of blogs are so clattered, it’s hard to find anything 🙂 Are you on Twitter? That’s my main conversational platform, it’s so handy, I’d like to add you to my list: http://twitter.com/#!/words2live/writecampaign2011 I’m looking forward to read more from you!
    – andrea

  4. Andera – as soon as I get a minute, I’ll get to Twitter and look you up!

  5. I hear you about being uncomfortable with self-promotion. I am SO not a saleswoman and it’s hard for me to just say to people: “Read my writing – you’ll love it!” I’m hoping to gain more confidence in that respect along the way, and hopefully this campaign will be a good starting point! 🙂

  6. Hi Cindy! Fellow campaigner here. Hope you’re having as much fun with platform-building as I am at the moment. But I have to agree with you – the idea of self-promotion is a bit scary for introverted writer types like me.

  7. Hi Cindy,

    I’m another new blogger, fellow campaigner, and new subscriber. Nice to meet you. =)

  8. Hello fellow beginning blogger! Yes, an unfortunate (and somewhat fortunate) fact of this century is that we have to build this platform thing. If you’re interested, Kristen Lamb at http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com has some great advice about building that platform.

    Self-promotion does not come easy to me, either. Hopefully we can navigate these murky waters together. 🙂

  9. Just wanted to drop in and say “Hello” from a fellow campaigner! I’m in your Beginner Blogger group. Looking forward to following your blog. Can’t wait to start all the fun. 🙂

  10. Hi! I am part of the campaign too! I am looking forward to reading more from you as the campaign continues. 🙂

  11. Also a fellow campaigner for the first time. I think i’m in the new bloggers group but I signed up for several. I came to your site through the Humor group because a funny blogger is my favorite kind of blogger. I look forward to reading more!

  12. Hey I found my way here. Sounds like I should have signed up for beginning blogging too LOL

  13. Hi Cindy,
    I’m also in your group. The Humor one. I haven’t checked to see if we are in any additonal groups together. I’m just getting started. Wanted to let you know I like your blog title: Life’s to serious to be taken seriously”. Really good.

    Do you have a follow you button?

  14. Hi Cindy, Fellow campaigner here sending a shout out from The Writing Well. Will visit often and see you back at the campaing HQ.

  15. Hi again, forgot to add my blog address. Keep in touch:)

  16. Hey Campaigning friend and fellow beginning blogger! May the journey begin!

  17. Hello, fellow campaigner. Nice to meet you. 🙂

  18. Hi, Cindy! Fellow first-time campaigner here, and a member of your “Humor” group. Just dropping by to say hello. I think this is going to be a blast! Looking forward to reading more of your blog.

  19. Hey, Cindy. “Hey” is southern for “hi”, and I use it all the time even though I was born in Utah.
    I’m a fellow humor campaigner and it looks like I should have signed up as beginning blooger. Yeah, blooger. Maybe I should remove the “l” too. I actually missed signing up on the linky list so Rachel reopened a few just for me. She’s great! I don’t see your follower list or I would follow you. Subscribing wouldn’t do me any good. I forget to read that way, but I know to click on my own few followers to see what they’re up to. No not good, I hope. Anyway I started my first contest in early august. It’s good for free chocolate or a gift card. Anyway, its at http://sherahart.blogspot.com/2011/08/want-some-free-chocolate-brown-nosing.html

  20. Hello Cindy,
    Member of your first-time blogger group. Or, a member of your calvary!
    Just stopping by to say hello.

    Fairview

  21. Hi Cindy! I like the way you think!
    And it has taken me some time too to call ehat we used to call our pen names, a BRAND. lol
    I am a campainer from your beginning bloggers group and let’s wish us good luck for this time next year being experienced successful bloggers who know all the ins and outs!
    You’re blog is really quite good!
    Samantha Stacia

  22. Thanks, Samantha – You’re right…by this time next year!

  23. Just dropping by to say Hey! We are in humor together 🙂

  24. Hi I am a fellow Humor Campaigner, finally dropping by to say hello 🙂 Phew, there’s a lot to do on this Campaign, but it’s fun.

Leave a Reply

