Lost: One Muse. Reward.

I’m two weeks behind on my posts going on three.  You’d think by committing to only one post per week, I’d manage to stay on top of things.  Apparently, my muse has other plans, because it (she?) has headed for tall timber.  Disappeared.  Vamoosed. Gone bye-bye.

What a coward.

If I could disappear like that, I probably would.  The pressure has been intense ever since I joined the Platform Building Campaign.  Since then, I’ve had wonderful people, fellow campaigners, stopping by and reading what I’ve written, and I’m not used to that.  Now, I don’t dare flatter myself by believing people are counting the hours down until I post again, but I’d like to think I would have a chance to gain some (as in, one or two)  followers if (a) I could post good stuff on a consistent basis, and (b) I could put a “follow” button somewhere on here (it would be business-as-usual if I’ve picked a theme that doesn’t include a “follow” button).

I’ve opened a twitter account (here’s what I have to say about that).  And, I’ve downloaded “Tweetdeck” to help me keep everything organized.  However, I have not been able to get on there on a regular basis, and when I do, I can’t think of a thing to tweet in a hundred and forty words or less.  Being word-thrifty is not one of my strong suits.  Usually.  Except now.  When I can’t think of any words.  At all.

And, it’s not like I’ve been living in a vacuum…things are happening to me and around me.  I do have a life.  Honest.  In fact, three days ago, I was sitting on a king-size bed in a cute, cozy room in a bed-and-breakfast in Eureka Springs, Arkansas, after eight hours of sitting behind my husband on a motorcycle in ninety-five-degree weather.  The last time I was in that neck of the woods, I was riding my own motorcycle, missing a curve, hitting gravel, and (gracefully, I assure you) landing between a chain link fence and a large wooden sign that said “St. Paul’s Bible Church,” which explains very succinctly, I think, why I was sitting behind my husband for eight hours on a motorcycle in ninety-five degree weather.  Which may not seem very hot to some, especially to those of us in Texas who have been suffering from three-digit heat since Christmas…but this was a wet heat, as I discovered when I tried to pull up my soggy jeans after a bathroom break.  Almost can’t be done without an industrial-size shoehorn.  Believe me.

Yeah, things happen to me, which is normally excellent fodder for blogs, but at the moment, I’m Muse-less, and if things don’t change, this is going to be a really short campaign.

About Cindy Thrasher

What about me? Good question. As soon as I figure it out, I'll let you know. In the meantime, let's just say I exist. In Texas. With a husband. In a house. With two dogs.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in Mulligan Stew. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I don’t think any wordpress themes have follow buttons do they? I’m following you through a reader, so I just show up whenever you post 🙂

    I’d think that sort of heat would be enough to kill off anyone’s muse!

  2. Ewwww – I hate that kind of heat. I’m so happy that things are finally cooling off up here in Toronto. The bike trip sounded fun, though!

    Just breathe. Your muse will come back to you. 🙂

  3. Crystal – Just breathe…good advice! I may have stopped breathing while struggling with my idea drought without even knowing it! I like it!

  4. I’ve been feeling the same pressure. Things happen in my life, but they don’t compose themselves into blog entries the way they used to. The campaign is making things worse. I think, will all these writer-types be interested in my outtings with the kids? I second guess myself. I try to remind myself that I’m doing this for me, and if someone else reads that’s just a scoop of ice cream on the pie.

    • Exactly!! I’m relieved to find another person experiencing the same thing, although I’m sorry you’re experiencing the same thing…don’t know quite how to get a handle on it yet. I may just have to work a little harder at it (rats!). Good luck to you and let me know how you’re navigating your way through it.

  5. Hey, at least you are still doing better than me. It’s been ages since I last posted. And yes, 95 degree weather is hot. I spent last week down in Southwest Missouri where every day was over 100. Glad to be back in Michigan again.

    I still haven’t tweeted yet. All I do is watch the tweets sail by (in Tweetdeck). One of these days, I’ll have something to say.

    BTW, thanks for stopping by my website.

    Greetings from a fellow campaigner.

  6. Hi Cindy! I’m utterly lost as to what I’m supposed to do on twitter as well. I hope eventually I’ll find my footing.

    As for subscribing, have you checked the widgets section? I think some layouts will have a “subscribe” widget, but others don’t. I wish WordPress made this easier for us!

  7. I can really relate to you, here! I hate riding on the back of my husband’s motorcycle in this heat. It feels like someone’s blowing a hairdryer in my face the entire time!

  8. Hey, your life sounds like mine. Will it be any consolation if I give you the Versatile Blogger Award? Don’t try to pick it up yet. I had my links all ready when Bill Gates decided to shut down my computer to install an update last night. I hope the link to your blog will be posted later today. Oh, Rachael posted on her blog step by step how to install follower buttons for wordpress. I hope that helps. And what is your twitter handle? I typed in your name with no space and nothing came up.

    • Hey – I’ll take anything I can get, especially if it’s free! I’m on Twitter @CindyThrasher. I read Rachael’s post on follow buttons for WordPress, and remember only my confusion…but, it takes me a few reads to understand most things! I’m so glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

