The Reunion Chronicles – The Final Chapter

In contrast to the Mixer I went to but didn’t attend the night before (depressing details available here), I managed to arrive at the Richmond, Texas venue for this multi-class reunion a tad early. I bought a plastic cup of wine, sat myself down at one of the smaller tables—close to the get-your-nametag-here table, and where I could easily see the door—crossed my legs, and waited for one or more of the following events to occur: (a) someone to walk through the door who I recognized (not likely); (b) someone to walk through the door who recognized me (even more not likely); and/or (c) the wine to kick in (a sure thing).

As apprehensive as I was, I managed to sit there, gulp my White Zinfandel, and, with an air nonchalance that any Frenchman would envy, stare fixedly at the door. I was projecting such an air of nonchalance, in fact, that even if Mark Harmon himself were to walk through that door, I would have reacted with the proper dignity and reserve appropriate for any woman my age, especially since there was a clear shot between me and that door, and no shoving, pushing, or tackling would have been necessary for me to get there first—which was a good thing, because I wasn’t dressed for it. In addition, I had the advantage of the element of surprise, since no one else was watching that door like I was.

But, alas, no Mark Harmon. Only normal, ordinary, old people… like me.

Out of the thousands attending from the four graduating classes invited (such observation being based upon the length of the food line), there were only seven people in attendance with whom I graduated in 1970 (christened, just now, by me, and referred to herein forthwith as the “Seven from Seventy”). The rest graduated in ’69, ’71, and ’72, and because no one showed up from ’69, I qualified for a shot at the title of Most Senior Senior. The upside, though, was that all but one of the Seven from Seventy had signed my yearbook, which meant that I might have actually met five of them before now. And, not counting my sister, that just left a mere crowd of people I didn’t know.

I really shouldn’t have worried about connecting or re-connecting…it turned out that the shared experience (or trauma, if you prefer) of high school was enough for me to assume a familiarity with my fellow classmates that I would not have assumed otherwise. I renewed friendships long deemed dead, and made some new ones that, hopefully (or miraculously), will last another forty-one years.

Just one more insightful observation: People there seemed to just pick up where they left off, and I’m thankful I wasn’t grilled about how I spent my last forty-one years. I would have had the devil of a time condensing my life since graduation into a short—albeit fascinating—synopsis.

And that’s assuming, of course, I could remember any of it.

About Cindy Thrasher

What about me? Good question. As soon as I figure it out, I'll let you know. In the meantime, let's just say I exist. In Texas. With a husband. In a house. With two dogs.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Mulligan Stew and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I resemble that remark…….I am NOT old.

  2. And you forgot Mark Harris and Steve Preston so there were 9 of us. Mark came late.

    • I wasn’t talking about YOU when I made the old remark (I should have included a disclaimer).

    • Rats…I’ll have to think up another nickname. And, now that you mention it, I remember looking at Steve’s name tag, but I didn’t realize he was in our graduating class. Unlike you (who makes friends so easily), my pool of buddies was rather sparse back then. I’m sorry I missed out on an opportunity to get to know both those guys. Are they on the committee, too?

  3. And, I’;m sorry that Mark and Steve did not get into the picture…think someone could photo-shop it?

  4. I am so honored that you and I got to visit that night. I regret that we didn’t know each other better in high school. I missed out for sure. Your blog entry reflects my thoughts as well. Thanks for putting it in words!

  5. Janice – you are so kind! You were one of those people I felt totally unworthy to know, if only because you were so much more involved than I. You were a “leader.” I so enjoyed being with you last Saturday.

  6. First, the whole making friends easily was something acquired after years of living (but I am NOT old). People never believe me when I tell them I was shy in school but I was. I knew who people were but I didn’t “know” them just like I knew who you and Janice were but we weren’t friiends (now that was a waste of high school time). There are times I wish I could go back and redo it all but then I slap myself back into reality and recall how painful those years were. So now we can “redo” the whole reunion thing in another 4 years and we will be the pros and all will envy us and our nonchalanceness (is that a word?) I thought Steve did get into the photo, just not Mark. Guess we will have to wait and see the photo.

  7. It sounds like this event was much more enjoyable 🙂 I’m glad you had a good time.

  8. Sarah – yes, the second night was much better, if only because I had all that pent-up party energy that I didn’t expel the night before!

  9. Now I have one (ok, two) more people to visit when I visit my family. Guess I could make ya’ll honorary “Barkleys” and invite you and Linda out to my Dad’s for one of the famous Barkley get togethers. My Dad would love that. I’m thinking I’m coming down there in April.

Leave a Reply

